Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Torrance Winchendon Library
Favorite Book Selections From Our Honored Memorial Library
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Sports & Outdoors

Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro


Blowout Sale! Save 62% on the Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro by Scribner at Torrance Winchendon Library. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. “The most insightful exploration of this unthinkable disaster.” —Outside “Here is the pitch-perfect pairing of subject and author, a gripping


Product Description

The most insightful exploration of this unthinkable disaster.”Outside

“Here is the pitch-perfect pairing of subject and author, a gripping deconstruction of one of recent history’s most terrible and vexing sea tragedies…A meticulous forensic study that, in Foy’s able hands, rises to the level of literature.” —Hampton Sides

“Fans of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air will love this exquisitely written and dramatic book. George Foy has an action story that doesn’t quit.” —Doug Stanton

In the bestselling tradition of The Perfect Storm and The Finest Hours, a harrowing true account of the mysterious disappearance of the SS El Faro, a gigantic American cargo ship that sank in the Bermuda Triangle, taking with it thirty-three lives.

On October 1, 2015, the SS El Faro, a massive American cargo ship that made regular runs between Jacksonville, Florida and Puerto Rico, delivering everything from deodorant to new Chevrolets, disappeared in Hurricane Joaquin, a category 4 storm. The ship, its hundreds of shipping containers, and its entire crew plummeted to the bottom of the ocean, three miles down. The sinking was the greatest seagoing US merchant marine shipping disaster since World War II. The massive ship had a seasoned crew, state-of-the-art navigation equipment, and advance warning of the storm. It seemed incomprehensible that such a ship could sink so suddenly. How, in this day and age, could something like this happen?

The answer is that a ship as large as the El Faro doesn’t vanish for just one reason; it vanishes because many factors intersect—everything from hurricane-tracking algorithms to the decay of rubber gaskets on hatches to the arcane science of loading cargo containers to the psychology of a powerful ship’s captain. All of these factors and more came into play in the sinking of the El Faro.

Relying on Coast Guard inquest hearings as well as on numerous interviews, George Michelsen Foy has crafted a brilliant account that brings to life the final voyage of El Faro, a story that lasts only a few days but which grows almost intolerably suspenseful as deep-rooted flaws leading to the disaster inexorably link together and worsen. We see captain, engineers, and crew fight for their lives, and hear their actual words (as recorded on the ship’s black box) while the hurricane relentlessly tightens its noose around the ship. We watch, minute by minute, all that is happening on board—the ship’s mysterious tilt to one side, worried calls to the engine room, ship-to-shore reports, the courage of the men and women as they fight to survive, and the berserk ocean’s savage consumption of the massive hull. And through it all, the pain and ultimate resilience of the families of El Faro’s crew. Meticulous and absolutely thrilling, Run the Storm is a masterwork of stunning power.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Scribner
Publisher:Scribner
Studio:Scribner
EAN:9781501184895
Item Weight:1.11 pounds
Item Size:1 x 9 x 9 inches
Package Weight:1.11 pounds
Package Size:6.34 x 1.02 x 1.02 inches

Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro by Scribner

Buy Now:
Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro

Brand: Scribner
4.3 out of 5 stars with 30 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$26.00
$9.93
You Save: 62%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Sports & Outdoors.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Scribner, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


Jim Clark: The Best of the Best
By Evro Publishing Limited
ean: 9781910505168, isbn: 9781910505168,
Jim Clark was a genuine sporting hero. He won 25 of his 72 Grands Prix and in the sixties was the yardstick by which every other driver on the starting grid was judged, and by which they judged themselves. Quite simply, Clark was peerless. Stubborn a...

Pheasant, Quail, Cottontail: Upland Birds and Small Game from Field to Feast
By H&H Books
ean: 9780996944816, isbn: 0996944818,
A comprehensive, lushly illustrated cookbook devoted to preparing and cooking upland birds and small game, both wild and domesticated, from the author of the award-winning website Hunter Angler Gardener Cook. Game birds have always held a high pla...

Play Your Best Golf Now: Discover VISION54's 8 Essential Playing Skills
By Gotham Books
ean: 9781592406265, isbn: 1592406262,
Two of golf's most revolutionary teachers share a personalized approach to accessing your peak performance. "The VISION54 approach is far more than just pure golf technique, it allows an individual to unlock their true potential by opening their mi...

Go Like Hell: Ford, Ferrari, and Their Battle for Speed and Glory at Le Mans
By HOUGHTON MIFFLIN HARCOURT
ean: 9780618822195, isbn: 0618822194,

Absolute Tennis: The Best And Next Way To Play The Game
By New Chapter Press
ean: 9781937559748, isbn: 1937559742,
Absolute Tennis is thorough and comprehensive guide to improving your tennis. In this insightful and visually engaging book, Marty Smith, an NCAA Division I Southern Conference Champion and long-time Director of Tennis at the New York Athletic Club, ...

The Last Cowboys: A Pioneer Family in the New West
By W. W. Norton & Company
ean: 9780393292343, isbn: 9780393292343,
A gripping portrait of one family’s gamble that rodeo and ranching are the future of the West―and not just its past.For generations, the Wrights of southern Utah have raised cattle and world-champion saddle-bronc riders―some call them the most ...

The Best Front Range Trail Runs
By Colorado Mountain Club Press
mpn: illustrations, ean: 9781937052102, isbn: 1937052109,
Beginners and experienced trail runners alike will revel in the publication of this guide, which takes the guesswork out of choosing a trail to run along Colorado s Front Range. Covering 50 trails from Fort Collins to Colorado Springs, this book high...

The Best Sailing Stories Ever Told (Best Stories Ever Told)
By Brand: Skyhorse Publishing
ean: 9781616082192, isbn: 1616082194,
For thousands of years, we have set out sailing for all kinds of reasons—for battle, for infinite wealth, for the excitement of exploring the unknown, and for escape from the mundane. We have always had a primal relationship with the sea—even those...

The 50 Best Tips EVER for Running Fitter, Faster and Forever
By CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
mpn: black & white illustrations, ean: 9781495265037, isbn: 149526503X,
#1 International Best Selling Book on Amazon! I tried everything. Changing shoes, changing nutrition, changing my running form and changing my training plan. I even prayed to the running gods! It didn't matter. Every time I'd bolt out the door for a ...

Best Seat in the House: A Father, a Daughter, a Journey Through Sports
By Scribner
ean: 9780743254366, isbn: 0743254368,
From the best-known and most widely read woman sports columnist in the United States comes a remarkable memoir of a father and a daughter, the story of a girl who would turn her love for sports into a trailblazing career. Christine Brennan grew up ...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2019 - winchendonlibrary.org. All Rights Reserved.