Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Torrance Winchendon Library
Favorite Book Selections From Our Honored Memorial Library
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Children's Books   Animals   Farm Animals

Saving Winslow


Super Savings Item! Save 35% on the Saving Winslow by HarperCollins at Torrance Winchendon Library. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. An Indie Next List Pick!“A winning tale of love.” —Kirkus (starred review)Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan,


Product Description

An Indie Next List Pick!

“A winning tale of love.” Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.” School Library Journal (starred review)

“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Additional Information

Manufacturer:HarperCollins
Publisher:HarperCollins
Studio:HarperCollins
EAN:9780062570703
Item Size:0.69 x 7.5 x 7.5 inches
Package Weight:0.52 pounds
Package Size:5.55 x 0.79 x 0.79 inches

Saving Winslow by HarperCollins

Buy Now:
Saving Winslow

Brand: HarperCollins
4.6 out of 5 stars with 35 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$16.99
$11.05
You Save: 35%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Farm Animals.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by HarperCollins, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Two Lions
ean: 9781503902909, isbn: 1503902900,
Eduardo Guadardo may look fluffy. He may look cute. But he’s no little lamb. He’s about to graduate from the FBI—that’s the Fairytale Bureau of Investigations—as an Elite Sheep. He knows five forms of kung fu, and he can outfox the foxiest ...

By HarperCollins
ean: 9780066237879, isbn: 0066237874,
An Indie Next List Pick!"A glorious tribute to Brown's timeless classic." —Booklist (starred review)Perfect for fans of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and Big Red Barn, this never-before-published picture book from beloved children’s book aut...

By Brand: Candlewick
ean: 9781564026620, isbn: 1564026620,
"I love Jock, my dog. I love the donkey braying 'hee-haw!'" Flora McDonnell's jovial salute to farm animals—including a gallant dog, two genial ducks, an adoring ewe, and her rowdy lamb, among many others—captures their characters in large, brill...

By Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ean: 9780374399078, isbn: 0374399077,
Emma has never been to a circus, so she is especially excited to see a circus parade in town. But her father says she can't go and see it―they have to get their farm ready for winter. So instead...the circus comes to her! This playful, imaginative ...

By Dover Publications
mpn: 43187-29444, ean: 9780486800257, isbn: 0486800253,
Three rare classics by a beloved author and illustrator transport kids to the farm for adventures with a plucky little chicken named Henrietta. Syd Hoff, author of Danny and the Dinosaur, brings his distinctive warmth and whimsy to these endearing ta...

By Dover Publications
ean: 9780486815299, isbn: 0486815293,
The Marvell family is on the move, driving from their Wisconsin farm to visit the children's grandmother in Virginia. The night before their departure, Mr. Marvell talks to Roger, Heather, and the twins about the wonders of the night sky and explain...

By Peter Pauper Press, Inc.
ean: 9781441326508, isbn: 1441326502,
Meet Arnold the Brave -- a SUPER sheep! Most sheep spend their days grazing in the meadows. But Arnold is not like most sheep. He jogs. He boxes. He does push-ups and pull-ups. While the other sheep find his antics humorous, he knows that a super she...

By SKY PONY
ean: 9781510713901, isbn: 1510713905,
Hattie Peck adores eggs of all kinds. However, she cannot make any of her own. No worries—Hattie has collected eggs from all over the world, hatched them, and raised her blended family of cockatoos, storks, owls, anything from an egg—even repti...

By Clavis
ean: 9781605373737, isbn: 1605373737,
"Thoughtful adults can use this simple book with its heartfelt text and solemn, cartoon animals to explain death to young children." - Kirkus ReviewsBear and Grandpa are going fishing today. But why is Grandpa sleeping in the grass? What is going on?...

By Cuento de Luz
ean: 9788415241973, isbn: 9788415241973,
Premiado en Estados Unidos en los 2013 Moonbeam Children's Book AwardsEs cierto que hay familias diferentes. La mía, por ejemplo. ¡Ser distinto es genial! Yo soy un pollito y mi mamá es una gata. ¡Y me encanta! Pocos comprenden que para mí tener...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - winchendonlibrary.org. All Rights Reserved.